Novice Place
 reading a 27c512
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mojodojo

2 Posts

Posted - 09/07/2010 :  13:17:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a noob to all of this and have a question. I want to copy the contents of a 27c512. I have a willem programmer and set all dips and voltage to the correct positions. Before i attempt my first copy I want to make sure I don't kill my master copy. So I have a couple questions.

1.Is it possible to damage a chip just by reading it?

2.Is there some type of copy protection that will render these chips useless if you try to read it?
Reply #1

mojodojo

2 Posts

Posted - 09/10/2010 :  10:04:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Background story: I have to machines that one of the eproms went bad in. I ordered an eprom for it. But since the manufacturer charges me over $200 for it, I wanted to make a backup before I used it.

I tried to read the microcontroller. It looks like it read it. There is data in the buffer. However the machine it came out of won't read the master chip. Mind you, I didn't test the master to make sure it worked in the machine it came out of before I read it. I read somewhere on these boards that the programmer I have parallel/usb might not have the correct voltage to read it and it could result in damage. Since then, I ordered the willem GQ-4X. I have one more of these machines that has a chip in it but I am reluctant to read it since I am not sure if the chip I ordered was damaged before I read it or the older programmer may have damaged it or they have some sort of security on it. I am just trying to make backups of this eprom because one went bad and I had to spend $200 for it from the manufacturer.

So my question is the same.