Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jmoliere

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2006 :  09:28:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,
I'm a bit new to eprom programming...
While working with the GQ USB Programmer...
I'm trying to program a 4k bytes chip (or a working space of $1000). When I select the proper device, and change the DIP switch settings on the board, the device displays that I have an 32k byte chip (I see values from 0 to 7FFF) which seems wrong. I overlook this detail and proceed forward.

I'm working on the 6802 microprocessor and inorder to start processing at the correct address, I need to write values to $FFFE and $FFFF. I'm using the ORG directive in my code to place the proper values at $FFFE and $FFFF.

I offset the memory on the device to $F000 (by entering 0F000 in the device offset text field) and get no displacement display in memory so I overlook this detail and write to the chip -- the GQ USB Programmer software crashes.

Instead of offsetting the device, I decided to offset the memory in my code. In the 'File Offset(Hex)' area, I put in -0F000 and tried to write to the programmer and CRASH.

How should I resolve this issue?
Thanks!

Edited by - jmoliere on 11/17/2006 16:27:14
Reply #1

ZLM

2937 Posts

Posted - 11/19/2006 :  09:58:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
What chip you selected?

The offset value should less than the total size. Here I see the device is 7FFF byte size but your offset is F000. Which is larger than the size. It's a invalid offset value.

Anyway, the software should not crash, even put in wrong value. This will be fixed in next software release.

Edited by - ZLM on 11/19/2006 10:15:35
Go to Top of Page
Reply #2

jmoliere

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 11/20/2006 :  13:09:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ZLM,
The documentation for the GQ USB Programmer seems to be a bit sparse concerning the area of offsetting memory. Can you direct me to something better than the HELP that comes with the software?