Newbie - Willem Enhanced USB
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ramen Noodle

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 12/07/2005 :  02:09:51  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi! I purchased willem enhanced programmer from EBAY..http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7565623938

I am trying to program SST39VF040 70-4C-NH chip without success. I purchased 3 chips new from mouser for this project, i need to replace a motherboard bios. I have been unlucky searching for walkthroughs on how to use this thing and i am completely new to this chip programming stuff. Here is where i am at: my computer uses xp pro SP1 and it is clean install. I click test hardware in willem 0.97G and it says hardware present on LPT1. If i try to burn my .BIN i get error: 0X000000 Chip = 0X78 buffer = 0X7C

I selected SST39LF/VF040 in the willem software and selected PCB3 from the toolbar and set my DIP switch as shown. I bet i am missing something very easy, but i am new. The seller stated that this programmer can definately program my chips. I am really at a loss as to making this work. Any and all help greatly appreciated!!! Also i tried searching this forum and was met with little success...:(
Reply #1

Ramen Noodle

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 12/07/2005 :  21:12:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well, boy do i feel stupid... Once seating the chip FULLY into its socket i am able to get chip I.D. and have been able to program and erase it. I still have a problem though... After carefully soldering the new chip on the motherboard the thing still does not work.. i burned 089cf45w.uma to the chip. Only file compaq says is available are one of those winPhlash bios updaters. I extracted everything from the winPhlash exe and have 3 files i suspect are bios files. windows reports all three as 513KB each. willem loads them all without problem. question is, am i supposed to load all of them on the chip or select one?? the files are: