Using The Enhanced/Dual power Willem Programmer
 PIC16F628A Error Writing Program Area
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SpeedyDog

3 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2007 :  11:08:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok, I'm new to MCUs. I bought myself an enhanced willem programmer, printer port + USB power. I also bought myself a PIC16F628A from digikey.

I've put the chip in, I believe correctly. the U indention (pin 1?) on the chip is closest to the DIP Settings in the ZIF socket. I set all DIP settings as the picture shows in the program for the chip, all OFF.

Now... The program acts the same as if there is a chip in or there is no chip so i can't even decide if it's picking up my chip.

I can click Read Chip and it just displays a bunch of 3FFF in the program and 00 in the Data. If I click Program PIC while it's all 'blank' full of 3FFFs no problem takes say 30seconds to program goes through Program/Data/Config areas etc. however if the data contains anything other than 3FFFs it gives me the error "Error Writing Program Area".

I also click "Blank Test" and it says "Device NOT Blank!" (both in or out)...

I've left the tWP and tWC at default (10uS,13mS respectively) however I have tried to crank them up a little bit as well.

I have tried using this WinPIC800 which also came on a CD with my Willem EEPROM Program.

WinPIC800 says:
ERROR -> Writing address 0x000000
Written: 0x280C Read: 0x3FFF

however it also works if you program all blank 0x3FFF

Any suggestions on what could be wrong?
Reply #1

ZLM

2937 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2007 :  11:51:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The PIC chip should not be placed in ZIF. There is a DIP socket for the PIC 18 pin chip.
Go to Top of Page
Reply #2

SpeedyDog

3 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2007 :  19:52:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ahh... yes, I see that, ok I've tested that out and it works now, thanks so much... I don't think it shows or says that anywhere does it?...