New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hellbelly

United Kingdom
5 Posts

Posted - 08/09/2008 :  12:42:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi

A bit of help for a complete novice please :)

I bought this h**p://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=290248233238&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=019 programmer, and this h**p://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=290237818008&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=019 adapter so that I could program some 27c4096 and 27c1024 40 pin chips.

I am usign XP Pro, with the Port95nt driver installed and software 0.97ja. I have tried both USB power and 12v DC power.

I have used it no problems with the 27c4096 :)

But the 27c1024 I am having trouble with. Here's what has happened (remember I'm a novice!)

Forgot to blank test it when I got it. Loaded my .rom file into the software, selected chip, set the dip switches, hooked it all up and hit the program button, it failed. This was using USB power.

I then tried to read it out and could see that it programmed the first 20 or so lines of code.

Now I can read the chip, but I can't program it - I get "Error at 0x000000 Chip = 0x00 buffer = 0x10.

I read the chip and immediately programmed it and that worked, but of course it's missing the large majority of code.

I'm assuming that if I can read it fine then I have the programmer and adapter setup fine? Do I have to worry about jumper settings or these link wires that came with the adapter?

Is UV erase the only option with this chip? I assume so as the erase button is now greyed out.

Help, please :)

Pete

Edited by - hellbelly on 08/09/2008 12:42:56
Reply #1

hellbelly

United Kingdom
5 Posts

Posted - 08/11/2008 :  05:26:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry, a bit of extra info. If I read out what little is programmed onto the chip and then write that back to it then it writes it successfully.

Does that mean it's a problem with the ROM file I'm trying to flash?
ta