Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 MCUmall Forums
 Novice Place
 Different Checksum with Different Programmer?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ecu88

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 11/09/2009 :  12:56:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

I am a total rookie at this, so be kind:) There is alot of info before the questions and I am sure this will only be the beginning.

I have several different chips (engine control unit maps) for my car's ECU. I have a new chip that can load up to 8 ECU maps. I have read all the chips and saved the bin files with a borrowed programmer. I have also created a final "combined chip file" with the borrowed chip programmer. This chip/file combination works in the car. The separate chips are 27C128. The "combined" chip is 27SF512.

I do not have access to that programmer anymore. I wanted to make some changes to the file combinations so I bought a GQ-4X. I have read the separate chips to new bin files with the GQ-4X programmer.

The GQ-4X appears to read the files from the chips with no problems.

This is what I have noticed:

1 - The prevous bin files were 8kb the GQ-4X files were 16kb. The borrowed programmer had a feature to set the Start address and End address (000000 - 001FFF)

2 - If I use the "Split Buffer to Files" option I get an 8kb file. But don't know if this is the same address range as above.

3- I have also tried the "Fill Buffer Hex" feature using the addresses listed above but the checksum is still different from the files saved from the borrowed programmer. It is also different from the "Split Buffer" files.

4 - If I load the previous files (8kb) and the new (GQ-4X) files (8kb or 16 kb files) I do not have the same checksum. I would not expect it for the 16kb file.