Help with programmer selection for DS1230Y
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

valkster

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2007 :  18:24:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello, thanks for having this forum. I am looking for an inexpensive programmer that can read the contents of an old DS1230Y NV SRAM chip and write that information to a new one. As you can tell, I am new to this and plan for now to only use the reader for a specific application with this chip. Basically, we have a machine in our small family business that uses a servo motor drive unit on it. The motor's controller has one of these Dallas chips on it and the unit has been losing some settings (reverting back to factory defaults). The manufacturer helped us diagnose the problem and stated it was an easy fix with a new NV SRAM chip...however, when we tried to make arrangements for repair it gets routed through a different department at the manufacturer and a minimum $400 charge will apply (well beyond what we can justify for an old drive system repair). I have the new chip in-hand, but no way of copying the program from the old chip to the new one. Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated on selecting a programmer unit and what issues I may run into. Thanks very much in advance.
Reply #1

DL

USA
46 Posts

Posted - 07/15/2007 :  06:26:09  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

Any Willem/PCB3 type hobbyist programmer will read and write DS1230.