Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 MCUmall Forums
 Using The Enhanced/Dual power Willem Programmer
 PIC16F628A Error Writing Program Area

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List Spell Checker

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Insert an Image File
Check here to include your profile signature.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
SpeedyDog Posted - 01/08/2007 : 11:08:26
Ok, I'm new to MCUs. I bought myself an enhanced willem programmer, printer port + USB power. I also bought myself a PIC16F628A from digikey.

I've put the chip in, I believe correctly. the U indention (pin 1?) on the chip is closest to the DIP Settings in the ZIF socket. I set all DIP settings as the picture shows in the program for the chip, all OFF.

Now... The program acts the same as if there is a chip in or there is no chip so i can't even decide if it's picking up my chip.

I can click Read Chip and it just displays a bunch of 3FFF in the program and 00 in the Data. If I click Program PIC while it's all 'blank' full of 3FFFs no problem takes say 30seconds to program goes through Program/Data/Config areas etc. however if the data contains anything other than 3FFFs it gives me the error "Error Writing Program Area".

I also click "Blank Test" and it says "Device NOT Blank!" (both in or out)...

I've left the tWP and tWC at default (10uS,13mS respectively) however I have tried to crank them up a little bit as well.